U*N*I*T*Y

“Where are you from?”…..Its a question I get asked at least 5 times a day! The truth is complicated, and normally my answer is something very cheesy that sways away from answering the question. I do this on purpose. Intentionally. Where I’m from has nothing to do with me, not that I’m ignorant to my own culture, but where I am making a point by this trivial challenge. We are all gods people, my blood is the same color as yours. I feel love, I feel hate, I breathe, I eat, and I sleep.I want the person quizzing me to understand that I am very firm on the fact that I am no different from he/she. God created my features just as he created theirs. we all have 2 eyes, 2 ears, 2 legs, 2 arms, and 1 HEART. We may not all look the same, but we are indeed similar. This is my point to make to society.

Now I understand that being from a certain region you will have different ideals, traditions, and ways of life, that can shape you and make you what you are, but what people are missing these days is that everyone’s blood is indeed red. Some tend to have “culturally inferior” egos and often will devalue you based on the country, tradition, and religion you come from. I don’t agree with this at all, I believe we are all the same once you remove segregating factors like religion, skin color, traditions ect. Its such a political thing when it shouldn’t be.

My advice and call to my people today is encouraging unity.

From a Anglo-French unite, from Latin unitatem (nom. unitas) “oneness, sameness, agreement,” from unus “one”. Unity is defined as the state of being undivided or unbroken completeness or totality with nothing wanting. It is the smallest whole numeral representation. It has the quality of being united into one. Unity can denote a combining of all the parts, elements and individuals into an effective whole. It is applicable to people and objects forming whole notions of any concept. It implies oneness when there is a certain usual division.

UNITY for people of the UNIverse. 

Celebrate diversity. Research and embrace other cultures and traditions. Get to know interesting facts about different countries. People are not weird because they have different beliefs than you! Stop with the segregation lets all get together and understand that we all feel LOVE the same way, so that must mean we have one thing in common (among the other things)!

For me it goes, I feel that I have reached a point in my life where I cannot be labeled as Black, Caucasian, Arab, Asian, or Indian. I feel human and I feel like that is what I am first and foremost!

THINK ABOUT IT.

Leave a Reply

